This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Release of External Software Rendering for JPCSP
04-17-2014, 01:30 PM
Post: #21
RE: Release of External Software Rendering for JPCSP
yah but not avx2 Tongue
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-17-2014, 07:04 PM (This post was last modified: 04-17-2014 07:22 PM by hlide.)
Post: #22
RE: Release of External Software Rendering for JPCSP
(04-17-2014 01:26 PM)sum2012 Wrote:  Anyway I have 8 core of amd cpu of cheaper than intel Smile

cheaper in price... cheaper in performance too. 8 cores? nope you have 8 logical processors but the reality is much more like 4 cores (what they called modules) with 2 hardware threads per module. While the integer units may be done in parallel in hardware thread, it's not the case for float point units. besides, "if Windows were able to utilize an FX-8150's four modules first, and then backfill each module's second core, it'd maximize performance with up to four threads running concurrently." This is similar to what happens on Intel CPUs with HyperThreading – Windows 7 "schedules to physical cores before utilizing logical (HyperThreaded) cores." I was extremely disappointed that AMD is "lying" as much as Intel about the real number of truly parallel cores. If they had kept true cores as in Phenom II, I would have tolerated those cores might be less fast than Intel cores because they would have been monster kings in multi-threading thanks to 8 true cores.

Another hidden "lie", take Kaveri cpu. They told that we can mix APU cores with RADEON cores (Mantle). It's true ONLY for a mid-range RADEON card! one colleague bought a Kaveri and a high-range RADEON card and discovered his card was too powerful to be mixed with APU.

if you don't believe, just have a look at this link : http://www.extremetech.com/computing/100...erformance
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-19-2014, 12:29 PM (This post was last modified: 04-19-2014 12:33 PM by sum2012.)
Post: #23
RE: Release of External Software Rendering for JPCSP
My CPU is FX-8350 should be stronger than FX-8150
edit:well,next computer might be try intel
(04-17-2014 07:04 PM)hlide Wrote:  
(04-17-2014 01:26 PM)sum2012 Wrote:  Anyway I have 8 core of amd cpu of cheaper than intel Smile

cheaper in price... cheaper in performance too. 8 cores? nope you have 8 logical processors but the reality is much more like 4 cores (what they called modules) with 2 hardware threads per module. While the integer units may be done in parallel in hardware thread, it's not the case for float point units. besides, "if Windows were able to utilize an FX-8150's four modules first, and then backfill each module's second core, it'd maximize performance with up to four threads running concurrently." This is similar to what happens on Intel CPUs with HyperThreading – Windows 7 "schedules to physical cores before utilizing logical (HyperThreaded) cores." I was extremely disappointed that AMD is "lying" as much as Intel about the real number of truly parallel cores. If they had kept true cores as in Phenom II, I would have tolerated those cores might be less fast than Intel cores because they would have been monster kings in multi-threading thanks to 8 true cores.

Another hidden "lie", take Kaveri cpu. They told that we can mix APU cores with RADEON cores (Mantle). It's true ONLY for a mid-range RADEON card! one colleague bought a Kaveri and a high-range RADEON card and discovered his card was too powerful to be mixed with APU.

if you don't believe, just have a look at this link : http://www.extremetech.com/computing/100...erformance
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-28-2014, 09:09 AM (This post was last modified: 04-28-2014 09:20 AM by pal1000.)
Post: #24
RE: Release of External Software Rendering for JPCSP
I decided to give a try to this experimental, brand new full software renderer and ignoring the fact that is terribly slow I found some problems with it. JPCSP crashes and drags Java with it when entering a random battle in FFIV CC (ULUS120560) in the latest JPCSP and software renderer revisions. Also, the text from menus is missing except for the game startup menu.

I attached the game save data and the crash dumps. I started The After Years and played until I got control on the world map.

I used the 32-bit SSE 4.1 variant running with JPCSP r3506 x86 and Java 8 Update 5 x86. I can't use AVX2 being unsupported by my CPU and it is also a 64-bit only variant and thus would require 64-bit Java and JPCSP. It's too much hassle to deal with making the effort unsuitable.


Attached File(s)
.zip  SAVEDATA.zip (Size: 1.45 MB / Downloads: 1)
.zip  crashdumps.zip (Size: 20.56 KB / Downloads: 2)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-29-2014, 12:28 AM (This post was last modified: 04-29-2014 12:30 AM by onelight.)
Post: #25
RE: Release of External Software Rendering for JPCSP
I just want a sse2/sse3 version

test Final Fantasy Type-0
settings
opengl faster but no shadow and smoke is to shallow to notes    
External Software have shadow, but shadow change between color black and white
       

test opengl
if you change angle, you may see this
   
also get this bug went using External software
   
   

opengl
   
External software
   

jpcsp ignores fogging
opengl
   
External software
   
PSP
   

ACE telesport card effects
   
miss ACE telesport card effects some time
   

BTW, test PPSSPP Buffered rendering
   
   
   
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2014, 01:13 PM
Post: #26
RE: Release of External Software Rendering for JPCSP
(04-29-2014 12:28 AM)onelight Wrote:  I just want a sse2/sse3 version
SSE2 and SSE3 builds are now available. There is not much performance difference with the SSE4.1 Smile
I've also included an AVX build, but there is no performance improvement as compared to the SSE4.1 build. To summarize:
  • noSSE: slowest but contains no SSE code
  • SSE2, SSE3, SSE4.1, AVX: average performance. Use the version best fitting your CPU
  • AVX2: best performance but requires an Intel processor supporting AVX2

Always include a complete log file at INFO level in your reports. Thanks! How to post a log
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2014, 01:24 PM (This post was last modified: 05-08-2014 01:25 PM by nickblame.)
Post: #27
RE: Release of External Software Rendering for JPCSP
Hey gid!

Tried to use the latest versions of jpcsp (revision 3516) and software renderer (revision e5e0416) with no success. I get this UnsatisfiedLinkError error when I select the external soft renderer:

Quote:Running Jpcsp 64bit...
Exception in thread "GUI" Exception in thread "ExternelGE Set Log Level Thread"
java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: jpcsp.graphics.RE.externalge.NativeUtils.setLogL
evel(I)V
at jpcsp.graphics.RE.externalge.NativeUtils.setLogLevel(Native Method)
at jpcsp.graphics.RE.externalge.NativeUtils.setLogLevel(NativeUtils.java
:223)
at jpcsp.graphics.RE.externalge.NativeUtils.setLogLevel(NativeUtils.java
:191)
at jpcsp.graphics.RE.externalge.ExternalGE$SetLogLevelThread.run(Externa
lGE.java:69)
java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: jpcsp.graphics.RE.externalge.NativeUtils.setRend
ererAsyncRendering(Z)V
at jpcsp.graphics.RE.externalge.NativeUtils.setRendererAsyncRendering(Na
tive Method)
at jpcsp.graphics.RE.externalge.ExternalGE.activate(ExternalGE.java:101)

at jpcsp.graphics.RE.externalge.ExternalGE.init(ExternalGE.java:134)
at jpcsp.graphics.RE.externalge.ExternalGE$ExternalGESettingsListerner.s
ettingsValueChanged(ExternalGE.java:79)
at jpcsp.settings.AbstractBoolSettingsListener.settingsValueChanged(Abst
ractBoolSettingsListener.java:46)
at jpcsp.settings.AbstractBoolSettingsListener.settingsValueChanged(Abst
ractBoolSettingsListener.java:35)
at jpcsp.settings.Settings.registerSettingsListener(Settings.java:783)
at jpcsp.graphics.RE.externalge.ExternalGE.init(ExternalGE.java:129)
at jpcsp.HLE.modules150.sceDisplay$AWTGLCanvas_sceDisplay.paintGL(sceDis
play.java:155)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTGLCanvas.paint(AWTGLCanvas.java:314)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTGLCanvas.update(AWTGLCanvas.java:343)
at sun.awt.RepaintArea.updateComponent(Unknown Source)
at sun.awt.RepaintArea.paint(Unknown Source)
at sun.awt.windows.WComponentPeer.handleEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$200(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Sour
ce)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Sour
ce)
at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Sour
ce)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

What am I doing wrong Confused
(previous versions did work)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2014, 03:05 PM (This post was last modified: 05-08-2014 03:08 PM by hlide.)
Post: #28
RE: Release of External Software Rendering for JPCSP
(05-08-2014 01:24 PM)nickblame Wrote:  What am I doing wrong Confused
(previous versions did work)

I have the same issue if I have no external software-ge-renderer dll file in jpcsp/lib/windows-amd64 (only for 64-bit version)

if i put software-ge-renderer.dll or software-ge-renderer-avx2.dll it works.

and be sure not to use the wrong 32/64-bit version.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2014, 03:24 PM
Post: #29
RE: Release of External Software Rendering for JPCSP
I do the same steps and and get the error. Like I said it worked on previous versions. Anyhow, since it works for you I'll try from my desktop again and get back to you. Maybe the stupid dual gpu laptop has an issue.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2014, 03:33 PM
Post: #30
RE: Release of External Software Rendering for JPCSP
(05-08-2014 01:13 PM)gid15 Wrote:  
(04-29-2014 12:28 AM)onelight Wrote:  I just want a sse2/sse3 version
SSE2 and SSE3 builds are now available. There is not much performance difference with the SSE4.1 Smile
I've also included an AVX build, but there is no performance improvement as compared to the SSE4.1 build. To summarize:
  • noSSE: slowest but contains no SSE code
  • SSE2, SSE3, SSE4.1, AVX: average performance. Use the version best fitting your CPU
  • AVX2: best performance but requires an Intel processor supporting AVX2
think you
I try SEE2,SEE3 version , but jpcsp close if 3d models is exist
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)